Anonymous
map-marker Jeddah, Mecca Region

BAD EXPERIENCE Jeddah

Dear Sir/Madam

I bought dinning table on the 7.th of October,from Jeddah Talia West Elm .

They told me my order will be delivered after three weeks,however its long time.I recieved a call on the 26.th to confirm for appoiment.On the appoitment day noobdy show off,I made two calls to them,and they didnt give me any information regardless this.I went to store by myself inquire about it and been told that the guy he sold it he have in the system but later they discovered isnt in the stock,"logistic problem" i didnt get any sorry about it.Anyhow they said we will get back to you ,two days passed no reply,i went back and i was so patient after all this bad treatment and ignoring.I found one table in the show room and I told them to give me this one compasiating for the bad treatment and the delay.They said again we will get back for you.Two,days passed noone called me,i went back again to the store.And every time i see someone else and explaining my problem to him.There is no report being failed about my case,and noobody knows his job.And they are liars.The last guy I met today,he said i will be back to you.And he reply that the table is already disscounted and i will give you only 10% .

I am pilot in Saudia airlines,im not homless guy asking for the sharity.This is unproffesional to the brand and to me.I am very dissapionted I will never buy anything from the West Elm and reccomendet yo anyone,very unprofessional Stuff in Jeddah KSA.

Best regards,

Hamad Alsharif

View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Surrey, British Columbia

They take your money!

We spent 1000s of dollars and they lost our shipment and the customer service has been awful. They do not call back and promise you they are looking into it. We have been waiting for 3 months for our order to be found. Had I read these reviews earlier, we would not have bought from here. This place is not worth it!
View full review

User's recommendation: Do not purchase from here

VM M

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Sunny Isles Beach, Florida

HORRIBLE delivery coordination

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have been trying to receive my clients order for over a month and they failed to send the COI to the building TWICE and had the truck forced to cancel the delivery. When I call customer service, attendant CARLOS hang up on me saying I was breaking up. He clearly hang up and I still havent received my clients order. FRUSTRATING.
View full review
Pros:
  • Good price x quality
Cons:
  • Horrible customer service

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: NOT GOOD post sales service

Edward D Vki
map-marker New York, New York

Poor customer support

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Bought an electric reclining sofa during COVID. Been using it for a while when electric motor or switch or something died. West Elm blew me off and indicated that there was nothing they could or would do to help. Now the recliner is just a plain couch stuck in recline. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM THAT IS MECHANICAL. WHEN IT BREAKS ( and it will because it is so poorly made) they lose your number
View full review
Pros:
  • Nice stuff on the surface
Cons:
  • Poor performance

Preferred solution: I would like it fixed

User's recommendation: Never ever shop there.

Anonymous
map-marker Hightstown, New Jersey

Help with gift card emailed to recipient

There are two way to do this and the way I did it first was unclear, as it says 'who is this for' and wasn't sure if it meant email or just names. So I was in a quandary and called. I got a very helpful guy who walked me thorugh it. You need to make that process clear as it too way onger than it should have, in the past I've done West Elm gift cards and didn't have this issue.
View full review

User's recommendation: Go to bottom of West Elm home page and there (buried!) is rssources in which gift card is found. Not easy

Anonymous
map-marker Wichita, Kansas

Damaged item

West Elm - Damaged item
Table was damaged on delivery. Waiting for replacement. Not happy and wonder if I'll ever buy from West Elm again
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Longwood, Florida

No one ill help

I purchased a mindfully made wood bowl from pottery barn, it had a crack, i took it back to a different pottery barn store they would not accept it due to crack in the bowl. I called the 888-922-**** phone number provided and left multiple messages and no one ever called me back, I sent messages to the contact information provided via email and no response. I cannot reach anyone to help me. I have a bowl I paid $109.00 for that is worthless. This is no way to take care of a long time customer.Time to reevaluate my relationship with the company. I have no-one to help with this situation.
View full review

User's recommendation: do not buy unless you look at the package before you leave the store.

Amy P Mvl
map-marker West Windsor, New Jersey

WORST COMPANY OF ALL TIME

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I ordered a vanity months ago, the first attempt to ship was 3 months later. The day it was set to arrive I called multiple times because I got an email saying something about rescheduling but they kept saying its on the way, be there ready to receive.

Missed work, had the to pay the renovators the full day of work to only find out hours later that it was actually damaged beyond repair at the warehouse. They had to order a replacement. Months later the replacement is scheduled for delivery and the day of delivery they call and say that the vanity was lost in the warehouse and now we have to order A THIRD ONE. ANOTHER REPLACEMENT.

I *** hate this company. I called to try to complain and was redirected to someone names Christy I asked are you a manager and she she started literally LAUGHING and saying what do u want I can help u. I said miss are you drunk? Cause u are slurring your words and laughing while Im clearly Im distress and she yells at me and hangs up the phone.

This company is committing some kind of fraud.

Its crazy. DO NOT ORDER

View full review
Loss:
$5000
Cons:
  • Product quality
  • Delivery cancelled no phone call we waited 4 hours
  • Delivery

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY. DONT ORDER

Robin M Uah

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Nashville-Davidson, Tennessee

This company is a complete nightmare!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review May 20, 2023

I honestly don't know where to start. I have 3 pages of notes, contact with several store managers, phone calls, emails, etc.

My daughter bought a new home and my gift to her was bedroom furniture from West Elm. Since we were told it was in stock and should be there in a week, I was not surprised when my credit card was charged, and they took out the money. Months later, they still have my money and we do not have all the furniture. We finally got a dresser a week ago or so.

We were lied to from the start about a simple delivery date. We have been hung up on, dismissed, given wrong information or no information. We have missed many days of work waiting for deliveries that did not come and then lied to about it. At the moment I am writing this, we were finally expecting the bed to be delivered today.

(after many attempts!!) And of course, they show up with no call after we had been waiting all day and do not have all the bed. Now they are saying they have to schedule another delivery date. For weeks, I have been emailing customer service and not one person has responded. This has been a complete disaster.

They have caused us a great deal of stress and anxiety. If they had been honest from the start, the expectations would have been different, but they were not. To not answer the emails sent or return phone calls is just unacceptable. To actually take my money and not provide the product I believe would be fraud.

I will file a complaint with the BBB and anywhere else I can do so.

Please, before you order anything at all from West Elm, read the thousands of reviews and complaints this company has. There is no excuse to treat their customers they way they do.

View full review
Loss:
$1600
Cons:
  • Poor customer service and deliveries not showing up

Preferred solution: Compensation for all of the missed days of work, 4 as of now. Compensation for anxiety, stress, and no one doing a single thing to help us correct this mess.

User's recommendation: Do not order from West Elm. Please read reviews before you do so.

Donna B Zdv

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I have never got my order and was charged

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
West Elm - I have never got my order and was charged
Original review Jan 15, 2023

Although I spent over $$7,000 on furniture and I was assured everything was in stock when I ordered it sept 15, 2022 I still have not received my products.

On Dec 10, 2022 they finally called me to deliver my two beds when they came to deliver them one was completely missing and the other one was broke. This left me with no queen bed and a broken full size bed.

Im also missing my end table. Remind you, I was charged in full for all of these items Numerous calls to west elm in Chelsea Rene is my sales person, only for them to never call me back or when they do they tell me they are working in it. Nobody is working on anything and Im left sleeping on the floor for months and my elderly mother on the floor till Dec, and now sleeping on a broken bed. Im beyond disgusted I want to be compensated for this nightmare and I want my products and an explanation of what is going on!!!

I spoke to customer service in Oct 2021 again the day of delivery Dec 10,2023 when the stuff was delivered missing and broken with not one response. The only email I get from your company is 10 times a day about stuff for sale !!!

Im expecting a response and this condition to be corrected.

View full review
Pros:
  • Nice looking furniture
Cons:
  • Horrible customer service
  • Never get delivery
  • Bad quality

Preferred solution: Price reduction for sleeping in the floor for months and being lied too plus , delivery of my product since the place is already measured and furnished to match those beds and nightstand

User's recommendation: Never buy anything from them no matter how nice it looks, I purchased stuff that said “ in stock” and it never came and they take your money in full with no refund

Christa T Erc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Delivery Service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I scheduled the delivery for my little girls bed weeks ago. Today the delivery driver was to be at my home between 12 and 2, the ETA at 12:39.

I boke down my daughters old bed and cleared the room so that the "white glove" delivery would go as smoothly for West Elm as possible.

At 12:40 I called to find out where the drivers were. After a brief hold I was told the drivers were running 1.5 hours late. They would not be delivering my daughters bed until 3:30pm. No one called me to inform me of how late they were. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was told there was not one I could speak with but that one would call me back. At 2pm, still no call. I called back and again was told the delivery would be late. I asked again to speak with a supervisor, after push back I was put on hold for more than 5 minutes. I hung up to call West Elm customer service and finally received a phone call letting me know they had rerouted the deliveries for the day and they would be 20 min late. As I type, they are now 30 minutes late.

I will be leaving to pick up my children from school in 30 minutes. Hence, why I requested the delivery time prior to 2pm.

This is my second *** delivery service with West Elm, 6 years apart. I am so disappointed in their service and lack of give a ***

by the way, the bed and mattress have been paid for in full.

View full review
Pros:
  • Style of furniture
Cons:
  • Customer service and delivery

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Their customer service is awful.

Anonymous

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Falls Church, Virginia

Cushion Defects

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
West Elm - Cushion Defects
West Elm - Cushion Defects - Image 2
Had a brand new couch delivered in early January and as soon as we sat on it the cushions left horrible sagging indents. Went to store with pictures and they confirmed there was an issue and sent us to customer service. 4 months later, multiple calls and finally they schedule a 'repair' service - which we thought meant new cushions. They just sent 2 guys with an IPAD to take more pictures - and 3 weeks later no follow-up on the status.
View full review
Siu M

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Skokie, Illinois

Complaint

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
West Elm - Complaint
West Elm - Complaint - Image 2
West Elm - Complaint - Image 3
Updated by user Dec 09, 2022

Some lady named Katie emailed me stating that she tried calling me and my voicemail was full which is a lie. I only had 2 messages saved.

She stated that she sent a request to the headquarters to replace the couch set and ottoman and will get back to me in a week with their response. I mentioned that the material should be replaced to my liking because your sales rep picked this one and my skin is itchy with the one he picked. She never got back to me and when I followed up, she stated that headquarters refused her proposal and the case is closed.

I responded that I did not understand and there is no more communications. So, problem never solved and I have been scammed!!!

Original review Nov 09, 2022
Been fighting about my couch for 2 years. Sales Rep picked out material. I picked out color. Couch sagging and material is fuzzing/little balls. Getting rash from material. Got it replaced once. Calling every month or two complaining and trying to get it replaced or returned. Customer service is very rude. Now they say its over one year and they cant do anything about it. They do not have Corporate Office contact info. NOBODY HAS CORPORATE OFFICE CONTACT INFO. WHY???
View full review
Loss:
$4
Pros:
  • Nice stuff
  • Sales rep
Cons:
  • Customer service and return policy
  • Poor quality of items
  • Corporate office untraceable

Preferred solution: Replace with different material or different couch. Or store credit to buy different couch.

User's recommendation: NEVER GO THERE!!!

Maclean Vdn

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Los Angeles, California

Lied to and horrible customer service

West Elm - Lied to and horrible customer service
West Elm - Lied to and horrible customer service - Image 2

Long story short, I placed an order for items in January. I realized that an incorrect address was entered and immediately called to request a change of address.

I spoke with a very nice agent who gave me the option of cancelling my order or paying to have a replacement order issued to the correct address.

Needless to say, I spent a lot of time one the phone with representative that were unable to give me definitive tracking information on my replacement orders. I finally received email notification after three weeks that my items shipped and I would receive them shortly. I got confirmation today that my item shipped and was delivered to the address That was incorrect!!!

I spoke with one of the most aggressive and unprofessional team leads ever. She informed me that it is not WE policy to issue address changes.

When I stated that I was never apprised of this policy when I had spoken with three of the previous representatives. Trisha (the team lead) basically called me a liar and told me that it was in the notes that I was informed by a previous representative.

I inquired why would it be necessary to place a replacement order if your policy is not to change the address for existing orders? Why did one of the items from my order he shipped to the address I requested?

She did not reply to my question. Instead Trisha stated that the order already shipped and there was nothing they could do.

Ive ordered several items from WE and will spend my money with companies that value my loyalty and business

View full review

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Buy from retailers who care about your business

Featured
Debra T Bxk

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Woodridge, Illinois

DID NOT RECEIVE ITEMS ORDERED

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

To make a long story short, about 40 plus hours of my and my husbands time has been spent contacting West Elm regarding my ongoing issues, and despite asking to speak to one consistent West Elm employee regarding these ongoing issues, we have spoken and been redirected to several different associates (including but not limited to the following people: Dianne F., Jessica O., Ashley H., Amber T., Lisa, Jamella M., Treshia, Melissa M., Kimberly, Brittany A., Cassie M., Jelani S., Roy Perez, etc.), one terribly rude and aggressive customer service agent named Treshia M. Davis who claimed they were in a leadership role even though I asked to speak to a supervisor and not anyone below them, and then finally one supervisor (Lakesha McCall) after repeated requests to speak to someone higher up.

Lakesha guaranteed she would call me daily to update me on the credit and arrival of the correct chairs, however she refused to email me a summary of our conversation and put this in writing. I also requested to Lakesha McCall, the supervisor, that she listen to the audio recording of my calls to hear how mistreated I was by Treshia, a member of the West Elm leadership team. Treshia literally made me cry while speaking to her because of how mean and nasty she was, and all I was asking for is the money that was owed to me and the correct chairs in a set costing us nearly $4,000 (all of which we paid in full already). Lakesha McCall, the supervisor said she was now in charge of this situation and she was finally able to issue our credit in August, and she said she would release the chairs for delivery, while sadly telling us that the chairs we were supposed to receive on July 13th were not ever released.

Lakesha also blamed the previous agent for messing this up in our conversation, however there were endless amounts of issues that have been ongoing, so it felt like a cop out. At the time I spoke to Lakesha, she could not provide me with an expected delivery date at this time, but reassured me she would keep me posted regularly. Sadly, Lakesha never called me back after this conversation and I had to reach out to West Elm several times to verify that these chairs were still coming. On August 10, after not hearing back from anyone via email and after waiting on hold for another 45 minutes, I spoke to Roy Perez, who sounded sympathetic, and he confirmed my chairs were in route and expected to be delivered on August 16th.

He also stated that he would call me on the afternoon of August 16th to confirm I received the correct chairs and offer me compensation for my headache with West Elms customer service. On August 16th, the delivery came and the same WRONG colored chairs arrived. I refused the delivery and requested proof of this via email, which I have in my possession. Also, on the afternoon of August 16th, Roy Perez never contacted me to ensure I received the correct chairs and offer me compensation as promised.

At this point, we want a refund for the matching chairs we never received. West Elms customer service is absolutely poor and nonexistent. Their business and organizational hierarchy does not support customers actually receiving items that they paid good money for and definitely does not ensure comprehensive customer service especially when troubleshooting issues that occurred due to their own mistakes. I also have all of these correspondences documented via email (except Lakesha McCalls since she refused to email me) as well, so I can provide ample proof of this ongoing issue, in addition to requesting you access the recorded calls.

It is now August 17, 2022, which is more than THREE MONTHS after my initial order for an outdoor table and I still do not have the correct chairs I purchased and the summer is almost over, so the table and chairs cant even be enjoyed for the season since we live in Chicago. The amount of time and emotional stress this has caused my husband and me is quite significant, and definitely not deserved after placing an order amounting to almost $4,000, for items that were supposed to arrive at the beginning of the summer.

View full review
Loss:
$3458
Cons:
  • Customer service and delivery
  • Fraud
  • Scam

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: DO NOT BUY HERE

1 comment
Guest

West elm is terrible and an absolute scam. Thank you for sharing.