West Elm Reviews

Show reviews that mention
customer service service customer order delivery furniture store phone item week
Showing 163 of 720 reviews Clear filter
Filter review
New Reviewer
It started with my order of a slate placement. I called and told them that its damaged and the customer service told me it is handmade so I should expect it to be not perfect. I explained to her that I know the difference between imperfections of a handmade item and a...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3016536 Review #3016536 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
I would like my items to be properly exchanged.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor customer service, poor item descriptions

I have placed 3 orders recently, and had a problem with 2 of them; that is a high dissatisfaction rate. Two customer service calls have left me soured over the experience. WE will unexpectedly delay your shipment (by 2 months), cancel it without warning ("no longer available"), and refuse returns in store - even for small items, costing the consumer a UPS fee and runaround. BOOOOOO, West Elm.

User's recommendation: Order at your own risk.

View full review
ID
#2750615 Review #2750615 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Design
Cons
  • Product reliability
  • Unexpected delays
  • Customer service

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor customer service. Charged $250 more for something delivered 6 days ago!

I want a cheque for price difference. West Elm does not deserve any business for their lack of positive business practices.

User's recommendation: Don’t shop there.

View full review
ID
#2741935 Review #2741935 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Not trustworthy
Loss
$250
Preferred solution
Price reduction
Based on their prices, I always assumed that West Elm was a high end, high quality store. I couldn't have been more wrong.They have beautiful looking furniture, but it's just not worth the headache. There is zero quality control and poor customer service. From the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2632481 Review #2632481 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
The first email I received in the morning of the delivery said the delivery would not be done in the time period confirmed. I called customer service and the woman I spoke with said, "that's wrong, they have to deliver within the time period agreed upon, it's in their...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2626486 Review #2626486 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
West Elm Table
Cons
  • Customer service which openly lies to customers
  • Unprofessional sales staff and management
  • Undependable deliveries
Loss
$1200
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Original review updated by user Jun 03, 2021
Bought bathmat online, did not like it so returned. refund was not processed for a month, had to call twice to ask about it. Each time agent picking up phone had passive aggressive attitude. When I finally received my refund there was a $12 difference. Yes I am cheap,...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2586088 Review #2586088 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Design aesthetic
Cons
  • Customer service response
  • Deceptive and confusing structure
Preferred solution
Apology

I've already sent this to you in detail. Also gave it to your phone folks.

The half moon carpet xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
View full review
ID
#2516707 Review #2516707 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
South San Francisco, California

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Horrible experience with Manager Darla

I have been waiting on a bed frame that was supposed to be delivered 1/6-1/8. I received an email from west elm 2 days AFTER my delivery date saying the item was back ordered. The next email I received told me my items would be delivered 1/18-1/20. Again that window passed with no email from west elm telling me there was further delay. The last email I received said it will be delivered 2/2-2/4. Well its 2/4 and I still have not received my furniture or even an email telling me the item will be further delayed. I have called into west elm 3 times over the past month inquiring as to the status and each time I have been given a different answer. Today when I called for the 4th time I spoke with an associate Megan I believe her name was. She was professional and did her very best to help me but ultimately told me that I would need to wait 8 days for a call back on the status of my order. 8 days to get an update on my order? The item has been showing ready to ship for 2 weeks. I asked to speak with a manager. Fast forward an hour later and a manager named Darla got on the phone and proceeded to tell me that the order is progressing as it normally would. That was her resolution. Huge mistake having her in a management position. Megan provided far better customer service than she did. Zero stars for customer service. Clearly West elm needs to do some training regarding customer service and resolution. I furnished my entire home last year with west elm furniture. I am appalled by the lack of care and concern for your customers. It is unacceptable that I have only received updates from west elm on the status of my order AFTER my delivery date. This has happened 3 times. Its also unacceptable that after waiting to speak to a manager for an hour I was given such a rude, unprofessional response with no further information and no resolution. I never leave bad reviews but what I experienced today on the phone with customer service was something I have NEVER experienced before.

User's recommendation: Don’t order.

View full review
ID
#2407346 Review #2407346 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Follow through
  • Worst customer service in memory
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Misinformation on web site

1. I ordered drapes based on the color on the website and when they arrived they were so much darker than the pic I was certain they sent the wrong ones. I tried again and got same results. I called the customer service department and he agreed the website and the pic I sent him were 2 completely different colors. MISLEADING! No swatches available. 2. I was going to order upholstered dining chairs. the site said they were custom made and non-returnable. One day I went on the site and they were available for immediate shipping (not the previous 10 week wait time) and the next day they were no longer available for sale. Clearly, they are not custom made per order and so the false advertising is really making me mad!

User's recommendation: Don't buy from West Elm.

View full review
ID
#2340528 Review #2340528 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Stylish
Cons
  • False web site advertising
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Warning to others about poor quality and insulting service

Update by user Dec 13, 2020

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with product replacement.

Original review posted by user Nov 13, 2020
The West Elm chandelier I bought has two LED tubes. After a month, one of the tubes stopped working. So I was disappointed by the quality, but thought it might be fixable. I called West Elm and that is when my humiliation began. It's hard to put words to how terrible it was. I had to make many calls and was told several misleading things. I was told that they could send someone to make a repair and was given a phone number to call. When I called the number I was transferred to another person who said that repairs were not available in my area (in Arlington, VA about 12 minutes from Washington, DC.). After more horrible calls to the West Elm call center, I was told that the chandelier could not be replaced because it was discontinued, and that the design was such that it could not be repaired either. So what I had to do was send it back or take it to a store to get a refund and choose another chandelier. I explained that I had paid to have the chandelier installed by an electrician (as recommended in the instructions). I asked to be compensated for the cost to install the chandelier. After an hour-long frustrating and humiliating talk with the call center, being put on hold several times. They said the best they could do was offer me a 10% discount, as long as I bought a chandelier that was not on sale. What West Elm offered is totally inadequate. After such a humiliating experience I say to shop anywhere else other than at West Elm.
View full review
Resolved
ID
#2281703 Review #2281703 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Style
Cons
  • Lack of respect for the customer
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Late/Missing Sofa Debacle - extremely bad customer service

West Elm - Late/Missing Sofa Debacle - extremely bad customer service
Update by user Dec 26, 2020

We were charged again for the same couch! So West Elm expects us to pay twice for the same lame couch. The call center can’t line up charges on our West Elm credit card with our order number.

Update by user Dec 02, 2020

We finally received our Drake sofa. It looks great but the legs are wobbly, even after I tightened them. Very disappointing.

Original review posted by user Oct 30, 2020
I bought a chair and sofa on August 15, 2020 and didnt receive either. West Elm still cant tell me when they are going to deliver them. For the sofa the call center was confused and had no idea when I might get the sofa. West Elm kicked me over Sidelitona, which mismanages delivery. When I talked to Sidelitona and they said that they hadnt received my sofa yet and had no information about when they would get it. Ive wasted 6 hours on calls following up, and still have no commitment from West Elm on when/if Ill get the sofa I paid for. West Elm horribly disorganized and treats their customers like dirt.

User's recommendation: Don’t buy furniture from West Elm.

View full review
ID
#2256012 Review #2256012 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
West Elm Sofa
Pros
  • Like the sales associate that assisted me
Cons
  • Lack of action to fix the problem
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
West Elm - Cheapest $4500 leather couch on the market
West Elm - Cheapest $4500 leather couch on the market
We bought the leather Haven sectional in December 2019. By late January 2020, the middle cushion was wearing far faster than the rest of the couch. By March it looked as if the middle cushion was years old with cracks and peeled leather. This couch in INSANELY...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2128309 Review #2128309 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor quality of items
  • Terrible customer service
Preferred solution
Fix the couch. New cushions or new couch. This is unacceptable service/quality.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Took my money, did not deliver product, but did not refund

Westelm is a shady company with bad products, terrible customer service, and even worse delivery system. I ordered a table in January to replace another Westelm dining table that broke in less than a year of use. I would get notification that new table it is ready for delivery to my house, so I arrange my schedule (and work) to accommodate that. Last minute, they cancel delivery with some excuse (some of them obvious lies). This lasted over six months! After six months I asked for my order to be canceled. They said they did and will refund me in a few days. About two months later, Im still waiting for a refund. Called customer service - Im currently on the phone with them, on hold for nearly 30 minutes, and still no refund. Im getting the feeling they are hoping I will give up my refund and go away. Customer service tells me they cant refund until they receive the table, changing the story form two months ago. Well.. the table... I dont have it, dont know where it is, and shipping is not under my control but theirs; yet, Westelm is trying to make it out to be my fault I dont have the refund they owe me. I caution everyone to stay away from Westelm. They keep your money and dont deliver the product. In my book that is called stealing. #westelmsucks

User's recommendation: Never shop at Westelm. There is a reason they don’t allow people to review them online.

View full review
ID
#2113554 Review #2113554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
West Elm Table
Pros
  • Nice design
Cons
  • Didnt deliver product and wont provide a refund
  • Customer service and delivery
  • Unhelpful customer service
Loss
$1030
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Horrible customer service

The company offers no explanation as to why it has taken over three weeks for my furniture to travel from LA to Boise.

User's recommendation: do not expect to be treated well by West Elm customer service. Actually, as far as I can tell, they don't even have a customer service department.

View full review
ID
#2096643 Review #2096643 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Despicable customer service
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Outdoor Pillows

Dont Purchased an estimated $500.00 in outdoor pillows and all of them faded in less than 45 days. They all look like they are several years old. This is totally unacceptable. West Elm should credit my money back as I would be more than happy to send all of these faded pillows back to you.

User's recommendation: Don’t purchase outdoor pillows from West Elm.

View full review
ID
#2036175 Review #2036175 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Look of items
Cons
  • Quality
Loss
$486
Preferred solution
Full refund

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article