1/2 couch

West Elm - 1/2 couch
DO NOT BUY FROM WEST ELM I ordered a couch in July with estimated shipping date of October. October passed, November, then December so I cancelled the couch. Throughout that time waiting I was told the couch was already made and coming, I was told it was never coming,...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3254102 Review #3254102 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Boone, Iowa
Cons
  • Manipulative
  • Liars
  • Misleading

Broken couch

West Elm - Broken couch
West Elm - Broken couch
We bought a Henry chaise sleeper sofa. It was a nightmare actually getting it. First delivered the wrong couch, then delivered half of the sofa telling us the other half was no longer available. After finally getting the couch, the sleeper part broke after having it less than 4 years. It is beyond fixable as things that were welded on are completely off, We now have a $2400 pile of junk sitting in our family room. And of course there is nothing they can do about it. This company should not be in existence as their products are so cheaply made, yet incredibly expensive.
View full review
ID
#3244456 Review #3244456 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ada, Michigan

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

AWEFUL Customer service

DO NOT BUY anything at West Elm. I ordered a bed for my daughter in August. After a couple of delays, the bed was finally ready for delivery. They got to my house and when unpacking the box, noticed the frame of the bed was broken. This is after several delays to...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3191715 Review #3191715 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Ordered couch that apparently does not exist

Update by user Feb 01, 2022

It is now Feb 1st 2022 and I have still not received my couch. They have provided me with the same bogus update since 1/11 claiming my couch is at customs and then for the past week they do not know where it is… I do not think this couch exists and therefore, will not be cancelling my order to prove myself right.

Original review updated by user Dec 19, 2021
This couch was in stock and I ordered in late September. It was supposed to arrive end of October, it was apparently ready to ship and I just had to wait for the delivery team to call me. That never happened. After a million follow-ups, they emailed me to let me know my couch was lost. They sent me another one that was supposed to arrive late November it did not. Each time I call they say its in fulfillment. I am not sure how this company has not gone under. They are selling products that do not exist. This is illegal and its apparent from the thousand+ reviews that they are essentially running a scam operation. I will be filing a complaint with the better business bureau.

User's recommendation: Do not buy a single item from west elm that you cannot pick up in store.

View full review
ID
#3177117 Review #3177117 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Fraudulent
  • Can not locate furniture ordered months ago
  • Deceptive and confusing structure
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Received 1/5th of order without communication or refund

After the experience I had buying Christmas stockings through West Elm, I will never shop at West Elm again, and I will actively discourage others from ordering from West Elm as well. I ordered 5 stockings on 11/18/21. I received 1 on 11/23. After a 20 minute call with customer service that day, the representative told me that they were sold out but that she found me 4 stockings and issued me a new order number. This order number worked for a couple days until "no longer being found' on the order tracking site. I called on Friday, 12/3/21 and was told they would be delivered on Saturday, 12/4/21 and confirmed the stockings had shipped. I called again on 12/6/21 and was told they never shipped and I'd get a refund for the 4 I never received and now I have to go find a UPS store to return the 1 I did receive so I can be made whole again. Here's why I'm angry: 1. Initial order NEVER indicated I would only receive 1/5th of my order. I would have cancelled the order had that been communicated with me in the first place. 2. I was NEVER communicated with that the second order could not be filled. How is this not automatic? 3. I had to call customer service multiple times. While the customer service people have been nice enough people, I don't want to contact customer service once, let alone 3 times over an order. 4. I had to call to get a refund for an order that they couldn't fill. Why was this not automatic?? What are the chances I don't get a refund?! 5. I was lied to on 12/3/21 by customer service. The representative told me the order had shipped and would be delivered. Only to find out on 12/6/21 that they'd never shipped.

User's recommendation: Do not shop here.

View full review
ID
#3129443 Review #3129443 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Merchandise
  • Design
Cons
  • Misleading information
  • Lack of ownership of issue
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Shocking Deliver of Used Furniture

I ordered a sofa with Chaise - white leather, ~$6k. It was delivered with missing legs, cuts in the leather, a pair of gloves in the box, box was beat up - it was clearly used. Marks all over the leather. And the proof it was used! The deliver and sales slip for the previous buyer was still in the box! I was totally shocked that a company like west elm would try to deliver to me USED FURNITURE and try to deceive me that it was new. very very shocking - BUYER BEWARE - anything for the almighty dollar i guess. I requested a refund, so the matter will be resolved is my expectation, but I am still shocked this company would stoop so low. unbelievable. Let me guess....its due to covid
View full review
ID
#3121620 Review #3121620 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Roswell, Georgia
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

WONT CANCEL THE ORDER THEY CANT SEND

ORDERED A COUCH THAT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE DELIVERED BY 11.19. PURCHASE DATE WAS 8/2021 . THEY CANT GIVE ME A DATE WHEN IT WILL ARRIVE, AND THEY WONT CANCEL. IF YOU CANT SEND MY ITEM THEN REFUND THE ORDER. SIMPLE I SHOUDL HAVE TO WAIT AN UNKNOWN AMOUNT OF TIME FOR A PIECE OF FURNITURE. HOW IS THIS LEGAL NOT TO MENTION THEY DELETE ALL THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS ON THEIR PAGES THEY SELL FURNITURE THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHEN IT WILL BE MADE. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS UNFORUNITLEY TAKING THE *** END OF THE STICK CUZ ITS NOT THEIR FAULT. DO BETTER. CANCEL MY ORDER SO I CAN BUY A COUCH SOMEHWERE ELSE

User's recommendation: DONT SHOP HERE. LISTEN TO THE REVIEWS !

View full review
ID
#3107448 Review #3107448 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Cant cancel backordered items
  • Delivery time
  • Customer service
Loss
$4500
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Order cancelled without warning

Update by user Jan 15, 2022

I've ordered another sofa, same model, different fabric. West Elm offered a 15% discount.

The estimated delivery window was in January 2022, but it's now March. It's stayed on March for some time now, so I'm hopeful it'll arrive by spring.

Original review posted by user Nov 17, 2021
After placing an order for the Henry Deluxe Sleeper Sofa in July 2021, and after months of the delivery time frame being pushed back, I just happened to check my order online on 11/16/21 and saw that it was CANCELLED. Cancelled with no warning, no communication at all. No one could have called me to say that supply chain issues are the problem, so how about this other sleeper instead? How about the Henry but in this other fabric??? I am livid. It took MONTHS of research to find the perfect sleeper, and we were told it would be in well before the November holiday. And then MONTHS after the order it only ends up being cancelled. I'm a pretty loyal West Elm customer, but no more.

User's recommendation: Don't purchase furniture that isn't already in stock.

View full review
ID
#3075370 Review #3075370 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Great items
Cons
  • Order cancelled without warning or suggestion for replacement
Preferred solution
Get me my damn sleeper sofa.
New Reviewer

Poor quality and service

It started with my order of a slate placement. I called and told them that its damaged and the customer service told me it is handmade so I should expect it to be not perfect. I explained to her that I know the difference between imperfections of a handmade item and a damaged item. I asked her if I could exchange it and she said I could but I will have to pay shipping. I also cannot return or exchange it at the store because I ordered it online. I told her that its not fair that I have to pay for return shipping on something that is not my fault. Nothing I could do so I just decided to keep the damaged item. Then last night my glass fireplace screen (Willow) arrived. To my dismay, there is a crack on the glass. I called today and the person I spoke with said that I could send back the item and they can send a replacement. While hes processing the return he encounters a system issue which prevents him from generating the return label. Apparently this is a weird issue that he hasnt seen before but I am now doubting this after seeing the previous reviews in this site. I am extremely disappointed with West Elm. The style of furniture and decors are nice but so far both my experience ordering online and in the store (unfriendly and snobby sales associates) made me decide to never order from them again. I didnt think that for what is considered a high end store that they would make returns or just simple dealing with customer issues to be so difficult. No wonder more people are just ordering from Amazon nowadays.

User's recommendation: Don’t order from this store.

View full review
ID
#3016536 Review #3016536 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
I would like my items to be properly exchanged.
New Reviewer

Your systems are down

I need help : info regarding my return and your systems are not working My order number is 312772****8001
View full review
ID
#3006548 Review #3006548 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Piling of Sofa - less than two weeks old

West Elm - Piling of Sofa - less than two weeks old
West Elm - Piling of Sofa - less than two weeks old
West Elm - Piling of Sofa - less than two weeks old
West Elm - Piling of Sofa - less than two weeks old
Original review updated by user Oct 19, 2021
Our sofa with performance twill was delivered 12 days ago and almost immediately started piling. We barely sit on it. It looks terrible. I called to complain and the customer service rep insisted that this was normal and would go away over time. Right. When sweater last start piling, its usually a sign that they should be given away. From the online reviews, its clear that this is not normal, but a product defect that has affected many couches. Ive ordered couches from room and board, pottery barn, even world market, and never had this issue.

User's recommendation: Avoid west elm sofas.

View full review
ID
#2988050 Review #2988050 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Quality of product
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Non-delivery, delays no communication bad service

Ordered over $5,000.00 in furniture in July. AS of Mid October deliver months late. No explantion. Multiple calls to correct, nearly impossible to talk to person who can help you. When you do talk to someone they put you on hold for 20-30 minutes, then come back and say they can't get the information they need and will make notes. It will be followed up and and they will contact you. Guess what no follow up or contact. They charged me months ago and won't deliver on the goods sold and won't help getting answers. Asked for a full refund, now getting a run around. Going to file an FTC complaint and pursue refund. By far the worst company ever to deal with. Avoid.

User's recommendation: Avoid.

View full review
ID
#2944160 Review #2944160 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Horrible customer service

Trying to resolve a duplication of an order. Items had not been shipped but my paypal account was charged, more than 2.5 times what I had ordered. After almost an hour, and dealing with rude, adversarial, condescending associate AND supervisor, I was chastised and hung up on. I'm 60 years old and have NEVER been so poorly treated by a company in my life.Stay cleary cler of this company Sta

User's recommendation: stay clear of this company.

View full review
ID
#2859022 Review #2859022 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York

Late shipping

I called to see if my order had been shipped and it hasnt. Website said it would be here middle of September. I need it for a wedding gift by Sept 20. Now you tell me it will be here in late October. I want it for their honeymoon. Bad customer service!!!! Make it right and ship it out please
View full review
ID
#2856763 Review #2856763 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Simi Valley, California

Late shipping

I called to see if my package had been shipped and it had not . The website said it would be here Sept 11. Now you tell me it will be here Late October. It is a wedding gift for Oct 2nd and I need the luggage bag for their honeymoon. Very disappointed ! Bad customer service
View full review
ID
#2856747 Review #2856747 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Simi Valley, California