West Elm Reviews

Show reviews that mention
customer service service customer order delivery furniture store phone item week
Filter review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Misinformation on web site

1. I ordered drapes based on the color on the website and when they arrived they were so much darker than the pic I was certain they sent the wrong ones. I tried again and got same results. I called the customer service department and he agreed the website and the pic I sent him were 2 completely different colors. MISLEADING! No swatches available. 2. I was going to order upholstered dining chairs. the site said they were custom made and non-returnable. One day I went on the site and they were available for immediate shipping (not the previous 10 week wait time) and the next day they were no longer available for sale. Clearly, they are not custom made per order and so the false advertising is really making me mad!

User's recommendation: Don't buy from West Elm.

View full review
ID
#2340528 Review #2340528 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Stylish
Cons
  • False web site advertising
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Lost items and ridiculous fees

Second lost item from West Elm/Pottery Barn (first was a Christmas stocking). Ordered a set of chairs and a coffee table at full price only to have them go on sale a day later. I requested a price adjustment or cancellation but was told they had already "processed" and they could not offer either. A week later, items still had not shipped but items went on sale even more. I canceled the items, eating the $150 "shipping and processing" charge (one item was backordered and was able to be fully canceled) and reordered them, this time through the store thinking that would help. Estimated delivery was between a week and three weeks later. The coffee table supposedly shipped over 2 weeks ago and the chairs shipped a week ago and are waiting delivery despite the fact that it says the table ships directly. Emailed West Elm to inquire about items as they appeared to be lost and was told that table had shipped recently (person misread the tracking and looked at the chairs) and would arrive the next week. The next week, they told me the table had arrived but was awaiting delivery of the chairs which would arrive early this week. This week they told me neither item had been received yet, then told me "all" the items were awaiting final delivery and then said all items had shipped but had not been received yet. I understand there may be delays but I have now paid over $350 in processing and shipping fees and no one can tell me where the items are or when they will be received. For that much money the items should be easily tracked and located and customer service should provide accurate information. I have requested a full refund of shipping and processing fees which as of now they are unwilling to do despite the fact that they have no idea where anything is and give me a different answer every time.

User's recommendation: Do not order. They will charge for shipping and processing but items are lost/not delivered.

View full review
ID
#2339751 Review #2339751 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$1150
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Broken delivery items

West Elm - Broken delivery items
West Elm - Broken delivery items
CAndles for xmas presents all came in pieces! No replacements are availBle. I was refunded, but to tell the truth, this package looked like a child packed it. Not exactly the "pride" in your products if you dont pkg correctly, shows you dont care about the consumer!
View full review
ID
#2338122 Review #2338122 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carpentersville, Illinois
New Reviewer

Missed my delivery 10 minutes ago

I missed my delivery please have them come back

User's recommendation: Beautiful quality.

View full review
ID
#2337478 Review #2337478 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York
New Reviewer
I purchased a sofa from West Elm that arrived September 2019. It is a small leather sectional. Months after purchasing it I went to the store to ask how to take care of it as it had funny wear patterns. They were extremely rude and told me they sold nothing and to try...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2311361 Review #2311361 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
West Elm Sofa
Pros
  • Nice looking at the store
Cons
  • Poor quality
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Damaged goods and no service

Damaged merchandise. Discovered *** purchase in west elm store, customer service listed on site is not allowed to help resolve

User's recommendation: Go elsewhere.

View full review
ID
#2297638 Review #2297638 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kaw, Missouri
Preferred solution
Apology
New Reviewer

Need assistance

Worst reasoning by west elm for customer service. After major surgery Ill finally get to rerun the damaged throw to store. I loved the color, the yarn and style. It was actually going to be one of favorite things in room. BUT due to the nastiness, the rudeness and non caring attitude I will not reorder and replace. Also, due to this a few family members will nit be registering for weddings with your company after hearing what happened to me. They have been looking on internet for new throw from ANOTHER STORE for me! I have been sharing with all and asked others but to purchase from West Elm. I hope the Kansas City store has to close

User's recommendation: Find what you want from another store.

View full review
ID
#2297616 Review #2297616 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kaw, Missouri
Loss
$100000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Warning to others about poor quality and insulting service

Update by user Dec 13, 2020

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with product replacement.

Original review posted by user Nov 13, 2020
The West Elm chandelier I bought has two LED tubes. After a month, one of the tubes stopped working. So I was disappointed by the quality, but thought it might be fixable. I called West Elm and that is when my humiliation began. It's hard to put words to how terrible it was. I had to make many calls and was told several misleading things. I was told that they could send someone to make a repair and was given a phone number to call. When I called the number I was transferred to another person who said that repairs were not available in my area (in Arlington, VA about 12 minutes from Washington, DC.). After more horrible calls to the West Elm call center, I was told that the chandelier could not be replaced because it was discontinued, and that the design was such that it could not be repaired either. So what I had to do was send it back or take it to a store to get a refund and choose another chandelier. I explained that I had paid to have the chandelier installed by an electrician (as recommended in the instructions). I asked to be compensated for the cost to install the chandelier. After an hour-long frustrating and humiliating talk with the call center, being put on hold several times. They said the best they could do was offer me a 10% discount, as long as I bought a chandelier that was not on sale. What West Elm offered is totally inadequate. After such a humiliating experience I say to shop anywhere else other than at West Elm.
View full review
Resolved
ID
#2281703 Review #2281703 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Style
Cons
  • Lack of respect for the customer
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Late/Missing Sofa Debacle - extremely bad customer service

West Elm - Late/Missing Sofa Debacle - extremely bad customer service
Update by user Dec 26, 2020

We were charged again for the same couch! So West Elm expects us to pay twice for the same lame couch. The call center can’t line up charges on our West Elm credit card with our order number.

Update by user Dec 02, 2020

We finally received our Drake sofa. It looks great but the legs are wobbly, even after I tightened them. Very disappointing.

Original review posted by user Oct 30, 2020
I bought a chair and sofa on August 15, 2020 and didnt receive either. West Elm still cant tell me when they are going to deliver them. For the sofa the call center was confused and had no idea when I might get the sofa. West Elm kicked me over Sidelitona, which mismanages delivery. When I talked to Sidelitona and they said that they hadnt received my sofa yet and had no information about when they would get it. Ive wasted 6 hours on calls following up, and still have no commitment from West Elm on when/if Ill get the sofa I paid for. West Elm horribly disorganized and treats their customers like dirt.

User's recommendation: Don’t buy furniture from West Elm.

View full review
ID
#2256012 Review #2256012 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
West Elm Sofa
Pros
  • Like the sales associate that assisted me
Cons
  • Lack of action to fix the problem
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

My husband and I purchased a sofa (or so I thought?)

My husband and I purchased (online) a sofa from West Elm in September 2020. The purchase itself was a painstaking process as the website was having issues. After speaking with customer service, the transaction (purchase had to be done over the phone) was finalized on 9/8/2020. The processing and delivery times were long (2 months), but we were aware of that prior to buying. In early October, I checked on the status of our order and it stated that half of the couch (it came in two parts left and right) had been canceled. I called West Elm customer service and they stated that it may be an issue with the manufacturer (example fabric may be out of stock). They assured me they would call me back. Ten days later, I still had not received a call or notification from them and so I reached out to customer service again. At first, they (West Elm) said they would cancel and reorder my sofa (yet did not see why my original order was being held up/canceled?). This transaction however would delay the delivery by another month (so were talking I ordered in September and now delivery was scheduled for January). Yet later in the call, they suggested I just cancel the order all together (because they could not guarantee the delivery now for January). Long story short the order was canceled, and West Elm lost a lifelong customer.
View full review
ID
#2252647 Review #2252647 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Unhappy with Sales Associates

I bought the Ilya wide planter Wednesday night in your Skokie, IL store. Very happy with my purchase, but they did not have the Faux ZZ plant to go inside it. The person at the counter was very helpful and printed a page of stores that would have it. So.....today I did my calling and this was my experience. I call the WE Los Angles store, advised I was in Chicago and had a SKU # could she see if they had the item available? The girls said well what it is, I said it is the Faux ZZ Plant, she replied we have a lot of plants in here, some real same faux you would need to come in and look. I said I am in Chicago, so can't do that. She replied, you should check out Michaels! (I did not get her name) SO....I called WE Palo Alto store and spoke with Kim gave her the same information I gave the store before, she advised they only have a floor model and no box, so can't guarantee it would not be damaged. I asked if she would mark anything off, she said no. SO I said ok, the plant was originally $150, and shows as $105 now that's correct, right? She replied, if that is what the web shows! I said never mind and hung up. Then I called WE South Coast Plaza and spoke with Alicia, very nice very helpful advised her of my frustration. She also said they only have floor models and they are up in the walls, can't sell. I am a bit frustrated, your web shows the Fauz ZZ plant, but won't deliver til April, all your stores that show it, seem to only have displays. And honestly, your first two sales associates were rather snide.. I will be honest with you, I have not shopped here a lot, you came on a recommendation from my daughter who is helping me decorate, and my experience has given me a bitter taste with West Elm. Faux ZZ Plant is SKU # 463**** this is what was looking for.

User's recommendation: Not good.

View full review
ID
#2216165 Review #2216165 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Algonquin, Illinois
New Reviewer
Update by user Oct 19, 2020

It's now Oct 20th and I haven't heard a word from West Elm's customer service to discuss my experience. I purchased items at another store and won't be back to West Elm.

Original review posted by user Sep 18, 2020
Not enough room here to write it all, but innacurate stock info, backorders and ship dates moved...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2177291 Review #2177291 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
West Elm Outdoor Furniture
Pros
  • Furniture look
Cons
  • Lack of any meaningful communication regarding order issues
  • Items delivered broken
  • Lack of ownership of issue
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Horrible return

Update by user Aug 31, 2020

asked the manager, spent hours on the phone and no resolution

Original review posted by user Aug 31, 2020
This is the worst company. They don't do anything they promise. You can't cancel once you order. BEWARE. Don't order from them as they are thieves. I submitted a return, and they didn't even give me back what i paid for. I called to cancel 5 days before it shipped and tried to cancel. Several customer service reps promised full return, but in the end they didn't even return what i paid for it or the tax. I believe this illegal

User's recommendation: DON"T BUY.

View full review
ID
#2144465 Review #2144465 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
West Elm Duvet Cover
Cons
  • Refund policy
Loss
$34
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
West Elm - Cheapest $4500 leather couch on the market
West Elm - Cheapest $4500 leather couch on the market
We bought the leather Haven sectional in December 2019. By late January 2020, the middle cushion was wearing far faster than the rest of the couch. By March it looked as if the middle cushion was years old with cracks and peeled leather. This couch in INSANELY...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2128309 Review #2128309 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor quality of items
  • Terrible customer service
Preferred solution
Fix the couch. New cushions or new couch. This is unacceptable service/quality.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Took my money, did not deliver product, but did not refund

Westelm is a shady company with bad products, terrible customer service, and even worse delivery system. I ordered a table in January to replace another Westelm dining table that broke in less than a year of use. I would get notification that new table it is ready for delivery to my house, so I arrange my schedule (and work) to accommodate that. Last minute, they cancel delivery with some excuse (some of them obvious lies). This lasted over six months! After six months I asked for my order to be canceled. They said they did and will refund me in a few days. About two months later, Im still waiting for a refund. Called customer service - Im currently on the phone with them, on hold for nearly 30 minutes, and still no refund. Im getting the feeling they are hoping I will give up my refund and go away. Customer service tells me they cant refund until they receive the table, changing the story form two months ago. Well.. the table... I dont have it, dont know where it is, and shipping is not under my control but theirs; yet, Westelm is trying to make it out to be my fault I dont have the refund they owe me. I caution everyone to stay away from Westelm. They keep your money and dont deliver the product. In my book that is called stealing. #westelmsucks

User's recommendation: Never shop at Westelm. There is a reason they don’t allow people to review them online.

View full review
ID
#2113554 Review #2113554 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
West Elm Table
Pros
  • Nice design
Cons
  • Customer service and delivery
  • Quality of product
  • Unhelpful customer service
Loss
$1030
Preferred solution
Full refund