Anonymous
map-marker Decatur, Georgia

6 months, still no sofa

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We ordered a leather sofa and chair knowing that it would take a few months to get in. Then, finally, we received notification that both items have arrived at the warehouse so we were able to schedule the delivery day. Finally, the truck pulls up...but only had the chair. We signed for it but made sure to write that only the chair was delivered. Apparently, the sofa was misplaced in the warehouse so we had to reschedule. We had to wait another 2 weeks but still, we were optimistic. The day came but no delivery. We called and called, and finally we reached someone from the warehouse who said the sofa simply wasn't picked up but had absolutely no reason why. He didn't offer to reschedule us and instead said he could refund us. I'm not even sure if we'll get the money back after reading all these horrible reviews. We'll never shop there again.
View full review

User's recommendation: Avoid. You can find better service elsewhere. Shop local.

Rachael S Ept
map-marker Houston, Texas

Furniture not built to last

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
$1200 bedframe completely broken and dysfunctional after 8 months of normal use. Upon delivery I could tell the headboard would never last, but then the support legs caved after 8 months. The bed is completely useless now and customer service offered me $200 and nothing else.
View full review
Loss:
$1000
Cons:
  • Poor quality

Preferred solution: Full refund

Carol S Ujj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Order 323333****46

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
On Nov 29th I placed an order for 2 boxes of red ornaments and 2 boxes of gold/champagne ornaments. The red ornaments arrived on time. I have NOT received the gold/champagne ornaments. Your website says they were shipped; but, UPS tracking says only a label has been created. I already paid for these & would like them ASAP. Thank you for your assistance. Carol Skari
View full review
Mary N Hxc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker New York, New York

Worse customer service!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
They do not deserve even one star. Made several appointments for " free design service". They cancelled each one without letting me know. Wasted my time. Finally after several complaints, I was able to get an appointment and then she disappeared and I never heard back! No apologies, nothing. I called to speak to a supervisor and got no apologies. The worst customer service! I regretted spending so much money he
View full review

User's recommendation: Don't waste your money nor time

Mark W Mrd

Lies, delays, and charging for furniture that’s not ready.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review Dec 19, 2022
Dont ever buy from West Elm unless you enjoy being lied to. They have charged me for my entire order which after 4 months I still dont have. They told me they wouldnt charge until everything was ready, but they lied. I still dont have my furniture after 5 months of waiting.
View full review
Loss:
$5600
Cons:
  • Delay
  • Lies
  • Horrible customer service

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Don’t but from West Elm.

1 comment
Guest

I still don't have mine either and they charged me for it back in March!!! They can't find it and don't call me when they set up a day to check back in with me.

Spent hours of my life on the phone with them and left work when furniture was suppose to be all delivered and nope! They lost my couch and can't seem to find it and they won't give me a replacement and again they charged me for it in March!

Kmya Mqp

TERRIBLE COMPANY

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Absolutely terrible experience. One of the worst companies I have ever bought from, and I don't recommend buying from them. They kept delaying my order (two rugs) and sent me on rabbit trails to call and get anything sorted out-- then they told it's not their problem, it's their distribution center's problem and I had to deal with it or was out of luck. They wouldn't answer my emails or help me, even though I paid $250 in shipping...Their distribution center number was constantly busy. Wasted a lot of time and never got my order earlier...I wish I would have known this before buying from them. I'm really surprised they are even still in business with their terrible service. Don't buy from them or you'll regret it.
View full review

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Don't buy from them

Ceana Kay
map-marker Birmingham, Alabama

Return pickup confirmation

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have traveled 120 miles twice for confirmed pickup for 2 chairs and both times were a no show. Meanwhile, they are holding my money. Background. I ordered 10 dining room chairs in April 2022. By December 2022, only 2 delivered and didnt have any idea when the other 8 might come. Still holding close to $5000.
View full review

User's recommendation: Don’t do business with them. Customer Service takes at least 45 minutes to talk to a human and then they have no answers.

Linda D Tkw

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Miami, Florida

The most unreliable store in all my experience. My item was never delivered and no explanation. It’s been 3 months.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Oct 30, 2022

I just called customer service and it’s the same story. They don’t know where the sofa is with no estimated time of delivery.

This company is the worse company I have ever dealt with. Was on hold for 30 minutes with no hope of resolution at the end.

Original review Oct 30, 2022
How is it that no one in customer service can give you an explanation of where the item is and when it will be delivered 3 months after your order. Please do not order from this store. They are not interested in delivering your item. Have spent an inordinate amount of time on the phone trying to get a an approximate delivery date and even that was impossible. I will never spend a penny in West Elm again.
View full review
Loss:
$3400
Pros:
  • Nice pieces
Cons:
  • Horrible service and delivery

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Anonymous
map-marker Fleming Island, Florida

Frustration abounds

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We ordered two of the same couches. It took nearly a month and a half to schedule initial delivery. Once scheduled I waited till a few days out then got rid of existing couches. We then had the delivery date pushed a month. During that time, we had a party with 100 people and no couches, as well as hosted family twice for two deaths in the family with no couches. Then finally delivery day came, they brought one, not two. We were told we would have to call and schedule delivery on the separate order. It was always one order, not two. I should mention the first couch was broken, so they said someone would be in touch to set up a replacement. That call never occurred. A month later the second couch arrived broken. They called customer service and they gave us the option to keep this one until the second replacement item was delivered. Another month went by with no return call to schedule. The communication is horrible, and their phone lines listed are rarely working. They have now agreed to refund money after they pick these up. I am hoping that they actually come to pick these up. I have probably spent 15 hours working on this issue, which I have no recompense for. Disgusting company, with the most horrendous customer service I could imagine. when they file chapter 11 bankruptcy don't be surprised. I hope a venture capitalist eats this companies assets for pennies on the dollar.
View full review

User's recommendation: Run don't walk!

Pennie H Asy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I recently ordered two sets of Slope Leather Dining Chairs—and unfortunately saw that the same chairs are on sale for $599 per set and I paid $799 per set. I contacted Customer Service and cancelled

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
my order. I may re-order before the end of the year because I was informed that the chairs will remain on sale until the end of the year. If there are questions, please contact Pennie Humphrey at 701-388-****.
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Watch for sales.

Sarah T Prz

Lack of communication

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
3 months in we finally have both couches, they both arrived broken, supposed to send replacements and its been 30 days with no schedule or update. Lawyer will be in touch soon, I want the piece of *** broken couches out of my house and my money back.
View full review
Loss:
$5000

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Treat this company like the plauge

Anonymous
map-marker Oshawa, Ontario

I sent an e-mail but basically got no response

My e-mail was about the lack of stock in your stores and everything that I wish to purchase has to be ordered and has a shipping charge of over $300.00.
View full review
Thomas Pierre T

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Purchased furniture

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
West Elm - Purchased furniture
West Elm - Purchased furniture - Image 2
I purchased 6k worth of furniture from this company a month ago and it still has not been delivered. Went to the store and was reassured all of my furniture but a marble table top from India was available. Just tracked my order and Im being told to wait for another month to schedule delivery. Absolutely the most ridiculous thing Ive ever heard. Im not wasting another penny with this so called furniture store. Totally useless.
View full review
Cons:
  • Lack of communication with customers

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Be aware of the low stock levels and long wait for items ordered.

Pennie H Asy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I have not been able to connect with customer service via telephone.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Reaching customer should be as easy as making a phone callandnot additional steps to make the call. I do not have time to waste in making phone call going through steps to do so. This is unnecessary and it disgusts me. Pennie Humphrey 701-388-**** thepenski1@***.com
View full review

Preferred solution: Description/photo of chairs that I ordered.

User's recommendation: Be aware that contacting customer service is frustrating.

1 comment
Guest

Customer service is a nightmare with West Elm. They put you into a be part of phone cue and har will call you back if there is long wait but never calls you back.

Worst help ever in customer service.

This company has no clue where your order is after 10 months and then tells you it will take 3-5 days to find your furniture. Still waiting….

Chelsea K Kaf

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Couch sent to wrong location, causing 5 month delay

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
West Elm - Couch sent to wrong location, causing 5 month delay
West Elm - Couch sent to wrong location, causing 5 month delay - Image 2
West Elm - Couch sent to wrong location, causing 5 month delay - Image 3
West Elm - Couch sent to wrong location, causing 5 month delay - Image 4
Updated by user Jul 25, 2022

It is now the end of July 2022, and still no resolution. West elm has stopped responding to my emails and whenever I call they say they will have to escalate to a manger who will call me back, and then never does. I have received my couch but all of the cushions do not...

Original review Mar 21, 2022
I ordered a sectional at the end of August and was told it would arrive by the end of October initially, then it changed to end of November. Now it is mid March and the couch is STILL lost in transit. They sent it to the wrong place! The couch was meant to be delivered to Florida (and apparently was shipping from NC), but instead they sent it to California, then Utah, and then after I called at least 15 times they are rerouting it to Florida and even lied and said they would expedite it (but instead they sent part of the couch that arrived weeks ahead of the other part so it is not able to be delivered). All they can offer for compensation is some store credit, and only AFTER the couch is delivered (which it may never be at this rate). I paid $4,000 for a couch and have been waiting almost 6 months for it arrive,4 months past the estimated delivery date and received NO updates on its status or delivery except from my tri-weekly phone calls over the past 3 months. I have talked to over dozen different customer service representatives and they all give different/conflicting information (if they give any at all, some have just transferred me to numbers that dont answer and then hang up!). No one knows anything and some of them try to act reassuring like Ill make a note and theyll expedite it or Ill make send an email and call you with an update but they NEVER actually do that or follow up. Just a lot of incompetence, blatant lies, and zero accountability. I dont want compensation for a 6 month delay due to their own incompetence in the form of store credit! I never want to shop with them again! To add salt to the wound, the representative I spoke to today informed me that I would have had my couch by Christmas (still a month late) if they hadnt screwed up the shipping, but instead it is now not due to arrive in Florida until the end of March, which means it wont be delivered until the beginning of April. This is absolutely ridiculous
View full review
Loss:
$3798
Cons:
  • Customer service which openly lies to customers
  • Lack of communication with customers
  • Totally incompetent employees

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: DO NOT ORDER CUSTOM FURNITURE