Los Angeles, California
Not resolved
Advertised vs Delivered
Customer service
Delivery Service
Diversity of Products or Services
Exchange, Refund and Cancellation Policy
Price Affordability
Product or Service Quality
Style and Design
Value for money

Our miserable West Elm experience started during the ordering process. One of the three items we purchased (Rosanna Ceravolo Bar Cabinet) was listed as available on the site but turned out to be sold out. We updated the order, about a week later, which wasn't the end of the world.

Next, we got an estimated shipping date with a window that spanned 3 weeks, and was more than a month away, too, without any explanation for either. They might as well have said, "it'll be there when it gets there". Well, the first item (Reede Nightstand) showed up well in advance of the others, without any indication that it had shipped or would arrive ahead of the stated window, but it arrived in good shape and in working order. We would soon be thankful for that much.

The other items (Reede Bar Cabinet and Mid-Century Pop-Up Coffee Table) required the very inadequately named “white glove service.” Let me tell you about West Elm's "white glove service", for which we paid an extra $75 and $100, per item. These guys showed up 2 hours after their 8-9 AM estimated arrival time. How many orders do you have before 9 AM to justify being that far behind? The delivery window had expired by the time we got a call saying they'd be late. No ***.

The truck they showed up in didn’t have a loading ramp, so what did these geniuses do? You guessed it, they simply pushed the boxes containing our coffee table and bar over the 4+ foot drop from the truck to the ground below. The boxes thudded to the ground in truly cringe-worthy fashion, and I knew it would take a miracle for nothing inside to have been damaged.

Next in the white glove service saga, they brought the boxes upstairs and asked if we wanted them to assemble the pieces. We incorrectly chose ‘yes’. The delivery men proceeded to tear open the box containing the table without any regard for their surroundings, or the furniture inside, damaging both our hallway walls and the table alike. Next, he proceeded to attach the table legs with a power drill (which is not recommended by the instructions), over-tightening every screw to the point of compromising the wood.

Finally, these guys opened up the box containing the bar, only to find that a door hinge had broken off completely and the cabinet would no longer close. Who would have thought that letting an item weighing 43 pounds fall 4 feet to land on pavement could have damaged said item? Shocking…

Obviously, we sent the bar back and were told that we’d be contacted within the next 2-3 businesses days to schedule the delivery of a replacement. They never contacted us. We called them and sat through an hour of automated service trees + on hold wait time before finally getting someone who could help (or so we thought) on the phone. The service agent "helped" us schedule a delivery date and time and notified us that we’d be called by 3 PM the day prior to confirm our window. They never called. Again, we called them to confirm our delivery window, only to be told that no delivery date or window had been scheduled in their system. At this point, it’s all I can do not to take out my frustration on this poor service rep, knowing that it’s not her fault her company is apparently comprised solely of ***

We eventually get the replacement bar delivered, and to their credit, they sent a much more respectful crew the 2nd time around (they wore booties in our place, whereas the last crew damaged the walls). However, upon opening and inspecting the replacement bar, the delivery man immediately apologized and said “we’re sorry, but this one looks broken, too”. And it was. In the exact same way. On the same door. I don’t know if they sent us back the same non-repaired bar that we returned, but it certainly looked like that’s what they did. Needless to say, we sent that one back, too.

We were told that the next delivery would be pre-assembled and inspected in the warehouse before being shipped to us. Again, they said we’d be contacted within 2-3 business days to schedule a delivery date and time for the replacement’s replacement. Again, we were never contacted. We called them and got a delivery date estimate that was over 2 weeks away, and were told we’d be contacted 2-3 business days in advance of that delivery date to confirm a window. Yeah, I’m not holding my breath.

And that’s where things stand as of this writing. We still don’t have the $700 bar that they charged to my credit card 2+ months ago. This has to be one of the worst run companies I’ve ever encountered. Business schools should use them as a case study for everything from terrible customer service to operational ineptitude. I love the aesthetic and quality of the furniture I’ve received, but the service nightmare they’ve put us through will preclude us from ever buying West Elm furniture again.

Reason of review: Most of the above.

Monetary Loss: $700.

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered.

West Elm Pros: Design aesthetic, Style and design.

West Elm Cons: Poor customer service, Operational processes, Delivery crews.

  • Defective Parts
  • Bad Processes
Do You Have Something To Say ?
Write a review


You will be automatically registered on our site. Username and password will be sent to you via email.
Post Comment